While I was listening to this podcast, I started getting the sense that much of Adams work as a photographer had to do with very intimate, personal aspects of his life.  Childhood is one of the examples; it, as a word or phrase or thing is something that everyone has experienced and that everyone can largely agree upon (what it means as a time frame and state of being).  It is different, however, in the sense that no two childhoods are the same, and the experiences you have at a young and vulnerable age really do shape who you become.  The story Adams told about going hunting with his father hit home for me.  He described the experience as a horrifying one and one which he has very strong negative feelings about, yet he cherishes it almost as if the memory has become his father now that his father is gone.  I feel that these emotions that are directly attached to experiences and people can be very poetic but also extremely complex and confusing because it is all too possible for them to be contradictory.  I connected this with what he said about some of his work being purely  aesthetic in order to escape the emotion, but also with what he said about his work in the forests being angry work, and how that anger is apparent in each image in some way. 

The discussion about the light in Adams’ photos was the most intriguing part of the podcast for me because I feel like I have experienced a very similar phenomena.  When he was talking about the “Colorado light” that he misses and longs for and that was so striking in his photos, all I could think of is how I connect with light almost as if it were its own individual sense.  In the same way that the body responds to visual stimuli, sound, touch, taste and smell, I believe that there is also (for me at least) a strong sense of light.  I suppose this falls under “sight” but to me it seems a bit different because light is not itself an object, but it creates all the objects we are able to see by reflecting off of them in a way that our eyes are designed to respond to.  I have often been in situations where I recognize the light, but not the environment.  It is as if I have seen the light interact with the things I’ve seen at another place and time in the very same way.  It is like deja vu in a sense, with light.  In my home, where I have lived for the entire 20 plus years of my life, there is a certain type of light that I would recognize anywhere and have at times.  It’s like it carries you back to another place or time and I believe this is what Adams is getting at in this discussion.  I hope he gets back to Colorado in his lifetime to say goodbye to that light because I think after the connection he made with it in his life and in his photographs he deserves it.

