The excerpt “The Thing Itself” from Bill Jay’s Occam’s Razor really touched a note with me because I feel like I have been struggling with much of what he was saying about being a young photographer.  I am in my third semester of working on my senior work and I find it continuously difficult to find a subject I am interested in photographing.  His quote, “Photography has become a grade-producing chore and the thrill of visually confronting the world has lost its edge of discovery, the original reason, perhaps, why the student because a photographer,” really struck me because to some extent that is how I have been feeling; I felt as though I lost my motivation.  I really like his advice, to find those few things that really inspire or intrigue you that “a.) fire your enthusiasm b.) lend themselves to images, as opposed to words and c.) are continuously accessible.”  It is important to have that motivation to make images, it should be for you as well as your audience.  This excerpt has really helped me change the way I think about what I am photographing and what I want to be doing with my photography; just going back to the real reasons I wanted to go into photography in the first place.  The following comic I think illustrated this concept really nicely.  

Image

Image

