I’ve never really stopped photographing my own work or only made photographs for an assignment in class, but I have been feeling a bit of difficulty figuring out what I’d like to photograph. Recently, when I’ve been out and discovered some place or something that I’d like to photograph, I bring my camera and focus on that thing for an extended time, and often returned several more times to take more images. And I feel like this is a result of me having difficulty form ideas behind my work or having them be expressed through my photographs.

It feels a bit claustrophobic in terms of subject matter. I used to photograph many different things frequently, but now my choice of subject stays in one place for a longer time.

Maybe this is because of the nature of the view camera. Maybe the camera is changing the way I think about photos.